A Year Later

DSC_0938

Last March while visiting Robbers Cave I decided I was going to visit all 34 Oklahoma state parks in a year. Well, it’s a year later. I didn’t accomplish my goal of completing them within a year, so I’ve altered my goal to visiting all of them. So far I’ve marked off 14, which leaves 20 more. I feel confident that within the next year I can visit most, if not all of them.

Normally I would feel bad about not accomplishing a goal. But this time I don’t. I know that ultimately it doesn’t matter how quickly I go through the list. What matters is I’m getting outside and exploring. I was in some parks for a few hours, others a few days. Some I explored alone, others I had a friend (and dogs) join me.

Over the years I’ve heard a lot of people say “there’s nothing to do in Oklahoma”. As someone who does their best to get outside every chance they have, I can tell you this is not true. Aside from the 34 state parks we have, Oklahoma also has privately owned parks, wildlife refuges and recreation areas managed by the National Park Service.

My goal when starting this blog was to not only track my adventures, but to encourage people to get outside and explore. Over the past year I’ve had several people tell me that they enjoy seeing my adventures and that it encourages them to do the same. So, while I may not have accomplished my original goal, I am accomplishing my goal of getting people outside.

Here’s to another year of adventures, and hopefully 20 more parks!

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

“If the plan doesn’t work, change the plan. But never change the goal.”

One thought on “A Year Later

  1. Melissa and I are gonna heck out Sequoyah State Park soon. I will let you know when we go, so maybe you and ET can converge with us out there…

    Like

Leave a comment