Wichita Wildlife Refuge

When people think of hiking, many don’t think of Oklahoma. We might not have the mountains or landscape places like Colorado, Utah or California have, but if you like wide open spaces, you’ll enjoy it just the same.

The Wichita Wildlife Refuge is probably one of my favorite places to explore. The thing I love most about the refuge is Mount Scott. At 2,464 feet, it’s just high enough so you can see the refuge and the area around it. Depending on your comfort level, some people stay on the edge by the parking lot and some climb over the rocks around the top, hoping to get a good view.

DSC_0756
Each time I’ve been to Mount Scott I’ve driven up to the top. When I went in January, I saw several people walking along the road instead of driving. It would defiantly take awhile, but I’ve put walking the road on my list of things to do.

DSC_0750

I also explored a few trails that were around 2 miles each. If I was staying the night I would have gone on trails that were longer, but my drive home was about two hours, so I had to keep track of what time it was.

No matter your experience or endurance, there is something anyone can do at the refuge, and I highly recommend it to anyone who is looking to explore the Southwestern part of the state.

DSC_0760

DSC_0771

DSC_0772

DSC_0777

DSC_0780

DSC_0786

 

Leave a comment